Grand Heights

I’ve been trying to write new material…well, I should say that I’m always in a perpetual state of trying to write new material. Songwriting is not as easy as you would think. At my last gig I told the audience that The Brian Travis Band writes all our own material. I told them that “writing songs is really easy…you just make stuff up!” But I was totally being sarcastic because if you have ever tried to write a decent song, you will know that “just making stuff up” hardly ever produces a great song. You have to dig pretty deep and there is a lot of craft to it. It can come easy or it can take months or years to finish a song. You have to always have the “radar dish” out sort of collecting lyric ideas or concepts for a song.

Some songs just tend to appear, or fall out of you while you are playing the guitar. This only happens if you are really lucky, or if you have been playing and writing consistently for a while. These are called “gifts” and they are wonderful experiences when they happen. They tend to be better songs than the rest of the stuff you write and sometimes (MOST of the time) it feels like you were not even there while you were writing it.

I channeled one of these recently…All the lyrics just shot out all at once…in the correct order. I wrote the bridge during a subsequent writing session and now I feel that the song is complete. Here is a video of the tune followed by the lyrics. I hope you all enjoy it…I’m hoping to record it on my new album.

Grand Heights
(c)(p) 2012 Taste This Moment Music. Words and Music by Brian Travis

Will you take me as I am after the lights have started dimming
will you take my hand and lead me back to you
When the world is upside down and I’m back at the beginning
washed upon the sand by the ocean blue

My heart is true
I believe that love will conquer all
in spite of all that we’ve been put through
and just like dreamers do
we’ll rise to grand heights
just to get a closer view

And as these moments slip away
and the longest days are fleeting
like gains of sand
falling through
Face to face with the abyss
there isn’t anything I’ll miss
not the way that I miss you

My heart is true
I believe that love will conquer all
in spite of all that we’ve been put through
and just like dreamers do
we’ll rise to grand heights
just to get a closer view

I’m in too deep
so lost in you
your flying free
and I’m so tired of waiting

And in the end there’s nothing more
close the door that’s been left open
kick start your life anew
A brand new day a brand new plan
take me as I am
the person I once knew

My heart is true
I believe that love will conquer all
in spite of all that we’ve been put through
and just like dreamers do
we’ll rise to grand heights
just to get a closer view

Lastly, I want to thank you all for reading this blog…I’ve been getting an average of 50 to 150 readers a day here! I’m trying to post as much as possible to keep you all entertained with new copy. Please be sure to subscribe to the RSS feed and if you can (and if you have not already done so) please “like” The Brian Travis Band on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Grand Heights

  1. I love when that magic happens and the words just gush forth…..I call it singing with the muse….and damn dude….you sang with the muse here….awesome….AWESOME…..

Leave a comment